Sing for your supper or read books and make your own!

I love chick lit. Love it. Almost as much as bacon. I listen to a lot of books on tape in the car as I drive about 70% of the time for my work and I get really sick of the same songs on the radio and the news is way too depressing, so I listen to chick lit and the like. Recently I was listening to a Jane Green novel that had the most amazing sounding recipes in it. I was drooling in the car. When I heard this recipe I knew it was going to be modified to Paleo style and in my mouth that night. It was and it was amazeballs.

Cauliflower and Bacon soup with truffle oil
* 2 ounces chopped bacon
* 1 cup chopped onion
* 3/4 cup chopped celery
* 3 garlic cloves, chopped
* 1 head cauliflower
* 3 1/2 cups chicken broth
* 1/2 cup coconut milk
* White or black truffle oil (for drizzling)

Sauté bacon until brown. Add onion, garlic and celery and cook until vegetables are soft – a little over five minutes. Add cauliflower and broth. Bring to boil and simmer, covered, for around 20 minutes.

Puree soup with a hand-held blender, add coconut milk. When ready to serve, ladle into bowls and drizzle with truffle oil.

20130304-215323.jpg

It would have been boss if I had a piece of bacon as garnish. FAIL!!

Original recipe here: http://www.janegreen.com/index.php/2010/10/cauliflower-and-parmigiano-soup-with-truffle-oil/

Leave a Reply

