I’m sorry, did you say squash?

When I was about 8 years old my mom made squash for dinner. I didn’t want to eat it, but there were starving children in Africa and I had to clean my plate if I wanted any dessert. So I choked it down. Literally. After I swallowed the last bite, I sang out, “clean plate club!!” Triumphant and ready for dessert, but my ever wise older brother said, “Not for long…” And then I vomited it all back up and onto my previously clean plate.
I really haven’t eaten squash or any other cooked orange vegetable since. So when I keep hearing about spaghetti squash on all the Paleo blogs, I figured, what’s the worst that could happen? I throw up on my plate!? Ha! Wouldn’t be the first time!! So I slathered my spaghetti squash with Ghee and put it in the oven to bake. Then I pulled out my favorite marinara, Bove’s of Vermont Basil

20130304-222336.jpg

, and this amazing chicken sausage I found at Costco…

20130304-221526.jpg
Chopped up some peppers, onions and garlic and set them to simmer while the squash did its thing.
I’m so happy to tell you I didn’t throw up! But I’m so sorry I forgot to take a photo because it smelled so good I couldn’t wait to dig into it and the my plate was a mess and I can’t post messy photos, only messy stories! Next time!

Leave a Reply

