Spring Fever

As you probably gathered by my previous couple posts, I’ve been in kind a rut lately.  After lunch with my BFF Nate today, I realized that it’s only Spring Fever.  Yesterday, it was 50 degrees and the sun was shining.  Today it was snowing, blowing and cold and gray.  Thanks Mother Nature.  HAHA April Fools.  I haven’t been trying new meals, desserts and baked goods yes of course, but not the real deal meals.  I had a new resolve.  Had a lovely salad bar, steak and steamed broccoli at The Windjammer for my lunch with my buddy man and then went off to Costco to fortify my fridge with plants, eggs, meats and the like.  $150 later and an hour later…  My truck was full of deliciousness.

I didn’t really have a plan in place except I knew I wanted to make these Bacon Chive Biscuits.  I threw together a Maple Mustard Balsamic Vinaigrette and used it to marinate the chicken and as a dressing for my tomato cucumber basil salad, I had a head of cabbage that needed using, so I googled “Paleo Coleslaw” and came up with this one, it had me at bacon…

Side note / side rant – what’s up with Pintrest?  I’m not on it.  Call me Old Fashioned (giggle) but I use Google.  I Google it and then bookmark it.  Everyone keeps asking me if I found it on Pintrest.  Do I need to know this?  For real??

Then I threw the chicken in the oven, made up the biscuits and sat down to play some Candy Crush.  I’m totally stuck on level 65.  Once the Dudes got home I put the biscuits in the oven and set to wait again.  Big Dude was talking on the phone when he came in and immediately opened the fridge and started taking the coleslaw out to try it.  To his credit he did offer me the first bite.  It was a hit!  He ate about 1/4 of the bowl while talking on the phone and I sat watching and laughing.

So this is the finished product…

IMG_0074

I will be honest and say the chicken was not very good.  I think it marinated too long.  And maybe I burned the biscuits a little.  Forgot to change the temp from 400 to 350.  But I’ll eat those for breakfast tomorrow with some bacon and eggs as suggested on the original blog!

I also tried to make sour gummy things, from this recipe, but they didn’t go over so well with the Little Dude.  I guess I’ll have to eat them…  I’ll try again some other time for him.

Now I’m off to snuggle that kiddo and watch some deliciously trashy TV.  Speaking of which, did you hear Shain from Buck Wild died yesterday?  I totally thought it was a really bad April Fools joke, but so far, it seems real.  Sad.  That was one of my favorite dirty little secret shows this past year.  It brought out my inner redneck.  RIP Shain.

Leave a Reply

